How Does Scoring Work in Formula 1?

Formula 1, an international sport that has captivated millions of fans around the world for many years. The high-speed races, the adrenaline, and the skill of the drivers are some of the elements that make this competition so fascinating. However, for those who are not familiar with the sport, understanding how the scoring works can be a bit confusing.

In Formula 1, there are two final classifications that determine the winners: that of the drivers and that of the constructors. The former is valid for assigning the title of world champion to the driver who accumulates the most points over the course of a season. The latter is the sum of the points earned in a season by the two single-seaters, which decides the team winner.

But how many points are awarded for each position at the end of a Formula 1 GP?

Here are the criteria for assigning ranking points for a single F1 grand prix:

  • 1st place: 25 points
  • 2nd place: 18 points
  • 3rd place: 15 points
  • 4th place: 12 points
  • 5th place: 10 points
  • 6th place: 8 points
  • 7th place: 6 points
  • 8th place: 4 points
  • 9th place: 2 points
  • 10th place: 1 point

The ranking criteria allow for the establishment of a partial score that fluctuates depending on a car’s single finish in a Grand Prix or the fastest lap it has ever recorded on the track. Each position at the end of a Formula 1 Grand Prix awards a certain number of points. For instance, first place awards 25 points, while tenth place awards only 1 point. From 2019, a point is again awarded to the driver who sets the fastest lap in the race, provided he is classified in the top ten places.

Sprint races are a recent addition to the Formula 1 weekend format. A 30-minute mini-race in which approximately 100 km are covered, the Sprint Race determines the Sunday starting grid. The first eight classified drivers in the Sprint Race are awarded points in the following order: 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Each team evaluates the placement of their drivers and judges it based on their ambitions or seasonal objectives. A tenth place for Max Verstappen or Charles Leclerc can leave great bitterness in the team, while for drivers like Valteri Bottas in the Alfa Romeo or Nico Hülkenberg in the Haas, scoring points, even simply by one or two, allows classification that is often stingy with satisfaction.

F1 points system if a race is interrupted

The allocation of points in Formula 1 follows the scheme indicated above only if a race has completed 75% or more of the scheduled distance. On the other hand, for a race that restarted after a red flag and with the completion of two laps under a green flag. Points can only be awarded if at least two laps are run without the Safety Car on the track or in the absence of the Virtual Safety car.

Equal points in F1: how does the classification change?

In the event that there is a tie in the drivers’ standings at the end of the season, the number of victories determines the final position. This is not a rarity in a sport like Formula 1. For example, in 2021, Verstappen and Hamilton presented themselves at the last GP valid for the world championship scepter with the same points. A world title in the balance until the end (later conquered by the Dutchman) and which risked being decided by the criteria that provide that the athlete who has conquered the highest number of partial victories will triumph. Article 7 of the sporting regulations explains that in the event of an equal score between two drivers at the end of the season, the successes during the year are looked at first. The second option would be to continue to the end until a different result (third place or retirement).

In conclusion, understanding the scoring system in Formula 1 is essential to fully appreciating the sport. The points awarded for each position in a Grand Prix, the allocation of points if a race is interrupted, and the criteria for determining the final position in cases of equal points all contribute to the excitement and unpredictability of this amazing sport.