Roland Garros: Ranking the tournament’s top players

Roland Garros, known as the French Slam, holds a unique place in the world of sports, captivating tennis enthusiasts worldwide. Over the years, this tournament has witnessed legendary battles, etching unforgettable moments in the annals of history. From Nadal to Borg and Panatta, numerous champions have left their mark on this prestigious event, vying for the highly coveted trophies. In this article, we delve into the realm of Roland Garros to explore the remarkable tennis players who have clinched multiple victories during the Open Era.

The Dominant Figures: Multiple Roland Garros Winners

When it comes to conquering the red clay of Roland Garros, one name stands above all others – Rafael Nadal. The Spanish maestro has cemented his place as the undisputed king of this tournament, amassing an astonishing 14 titles, far surpassing any other player in history. Trailing behind Nadal is Bjorn Borg, a legendary Swedish player, who boasts an impressive record of six Roland Garros victories.

Let’s take a closer look at the esteemed tennis players who have clinched multiple Roland Garros titles during the Open Era:

  1. Rafael Nadal: 14 Titles

Rafael Nadal’s dominance at Roland Garros is unparalleled. From 2005 to 2022, he showcased his extraordinary skills and resilience, emerging victorious on the French clay a staggering 14 times. Nadal’s exceptional run of success began when he was just 19 years old, defeating Puerta in the final. Following that triumph, he reigned supreme from 2005 to 2008 and then embarked on an extraordinary five-year winning streak from 2010 to 2014. In a stunning display of talent, Nadal once again claimed the championship in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2022. Regrettably, the tennis world will miss his presence in the 2023 edition, as Nadal has already confirmed his absence.

  1. Bjorn Borg: 6 Titles

Bjorn Borg, an iconic figure in tennis history, left an indelible mark on Roland Garros. With six victories under his belt, the Swedish maestro demonstrated his mastery on the clay courts from 1974 to 1981. Borg’s consistent performance and tactical brilliance secured his place as one of the most formidable competitors in the tournament’s history.

  1. Gustav Kuerten, Ivan Lendl, and Mats Wilander: 3 Titles Each

Three tennis greats share the honor of clinching three Roland Garros titles during their illustrious careers. Gustav Kuerten, the Brazilian star, triumphed in 1997, 2000, and 2001, showcasing his impressive skills on the French clay. Ivan Lendl, the Czech-American tennis legend, demonstrated his mastery of the surface with victories in 1984, 1986, and 1987. Mats Wilander, the Swedish stalwart, emerged victorious in 1982, 1985, and 1988, leaving an enduring legacy at Roland Garros.

  1. Novak Djokovic, Sergi Bruguera, Jim Courier, and Jan Kodes: 2 Titles Each

A group of formidable players has won the Roland Garros championship twice, showcasing their remarkable talent and determination. Novak Djokovic, the Serbian powerhouse, triumphed in 2016 and 2021, solidifying his status as one of the greatest players of his era. Sergi Bruguera, the Spanish clay-court specialist, clinched consecutive victories in 1993 and 1994. Jim Courier, an American tennis prodigy, secured back-to-back titles in 1991 and 1992. Jan Kodes, a Czechoslovakian tennis marvel, left an indelible mark with his victories in 1970 and 1971.

The Remaining Champions

Alongside the prominent multiple-time winners, several exceptional athletes have left their mark on Roland Garros with single victories during the Open Era. Stan Wawrinka (2015), Roger Federer (2009), Gaston Gaudio (2004), Juan Carlos Ferrero (2003), Albert Costa (2002), and Andre Agassi (1999) are among those who have tasted success on the iconic clay courts. Additionally, Carlos Moya (1998), Yevgeny Kafelnikov (1996), Thomas Muster (1995), Andres Gomez (1990), Michael Chang (1989), Yannick Noah (1983), Guillermo Vilas (1977), Adriano Panatta (1976), Ilie Nastase (1973), Andres Gimeno (1972), Rod Laver (1969), and Ken Rosewall (1968) have all added their names to the list of Roland Garros champions.


Rafael Nadal’s 14 Roland Garros titles cement his position as the greatest player to have ever graced the clay courts of this prestigious tournament. With each victory, Nadal showcased his unwavering determination, unrivaled skills, and an undeniable passion for the sport. While other champions have left an indelible mark on the history of Roland Garros, Nadal’s reign stands as a testament to his extraordinary talent and enduring legacy. As the tennis world eagerly awaits the next chapter of Roland Garros, it remains to be seen who will rise to the occasion and etch their name alongside the giants of the game